U.S. Army’s entirely electric, neighborhood electric vehicles (By C. Todd Lopez). N.I.H. Gateway Center's green roof in Bethesda, Maryland. Wind turbines spread across a landscape. HHS using videoconferencing technology to share information. People riding bikes along a paved road. Solar panels on the roof of the EPA building in Denver, Colorado.

Federal Leadership in Environmental, Energy, and Economic Performance

List of Agency Senior Sustainability Officers under E.O. 13514

Executive Order 13514 required Federal agencies to designate Senior Sustainability Officers from among the agency’s senior management officials. These Officers are accountable for agency conformance with the requirements of this order, including the preparation of targets for agency-wide greenhouse gas reductions, the submission of a Strategic Sustainability Performance Plan, and the monitoring of agency performance and progress in meeting the goals of the order. The following is a list of the Senior Sustainability Officers by agency.
Agency SSO Title
Advisory Council on Historic PreservationRonald D. Anzalone Director, Office of Preservation Initiatives
Central Intelligence Agency Lawrence J. McGinty Chief, Environmental Safety Group
Commodity Futures Trading Commission Candace A. Turner Director, Office of Management Operations
Corporation for National and Community Service Doug Hilton Associate General Counsel
Court Services & Offender Supervision Agency James Williams Associate Director, Management and Administration
Department of Commerce Fred Stephens Deputy Assistant Secretary for Administration
Department of Defense Ashton B. Carter Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology & Logistics
Department of Education Winona Varnon Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Management
Department of Energy Daniel B. Poneman Deputy Secretary
Department of Health and Human Services E.J. Holland, Jr. Assistant Secretary for Administration
Department of Homeland Security Chris Cummiskey Deputy Under Secretary for Management
Department of Housing and Urban Development David Lipsetz Senior Advisor to the Assistant Secretary
Department of the Interior Rhea S. Suh Assistant Secretary, Policy Management and Budget
Department of Justice Lee J. Lofthus Assistant Attorney General for Administration
Department of Labor Charlotte Hayes Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy
Department of State Patrick Kennedy Undersecretary for Management
Department of Transportation Brodi Fontenot Deputy Assistant Secretary for Administration
Department of the Treasury Nani Coloretti Deputy Assistant Secretary for Management and Budget
Department of Veterans Affairs James M. Sullivan Director, Asset Management Services
Environmental Protection Agency Craig E. Hooks Assistant Administrator, Office of Administration and Resources Management
Export-Import Bank Michael Cushing Senior Vice President, Resource Management
Farm Credit Administration Stephen G. Smith Director, Office of Management and CFO
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Glenda Patrick Director, LMD
Federal Housing Finance Agency Randy Sinkler Facilities and Logistics Manager
Federal Labor Relations Authority Sonna Stampone Executive Director
Federal Maritime Commission In Transition
Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission Michael A. McCord General Counsel
Federal Trade Commission Eileen Harrington Executive Director
General Services Administration Jiyoung Park Associate Administrator, Office of Small Business Utilization
Institute of Museum and Library Services Madeleine McCain Director of Operations
Marine Mammal Commission Catherine Jones Administrative Officer
Millennium Challenge Corporation Thomas P. Schehl Senior Director, Environment and Social Assessment
National Aeronautics and Space Administration Olga M. Dominguez Assistant Administrator, Office of Strategic Infrastructure
National Archives and Records Administration Mark D. Sprouse Director, Facilities and Personal Property Management Division
National Capital Planning Commission Marcel C. Acosta Executive Director
National Endowment for the Arts Kathleen M. Edwards Director, Administrative Services Office
National Endowment for the Humanities Barry Maynes Administrative Services Officer
National Labor Relations Board Kathleen James Deputy Director, Division of Administration
National Mediation Board June D. W. King Director, Office of Administration and Chief Information Officer
National Science Foundation Joseph F. Burt Senior Advisor
Nuclear Regulatory Commission Cynthia A. Carpenter Director, Office of Administration
Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board David M. DiodatoSenior Professional Staff
Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission In Transition
Office of Personnel Management Tina B. McGuire Director, Facilities, Security & Contracting
Overseas Private Investment Corporation Lena Paulsen Director, Security and Administrative Services
Peace Corps James Pimpedly Chief, Administrative Service, Office of Management
Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation Patricia Davis Director, Facilities and Services Department
Railroad Retirement Board Keith Earley Director of Administration
Securities and Exchange Commission In Transition
Selective Service System Joel C. Spangenberg Chief of Staff
Small Business Administration Paul ChristyChief Information Officer
Smithsonian Institution Nancy Bechtol Director, Office of Facilities Management and Reliability
Social Security Administration Michael Keegan Associate Commissioner
Tennessee Valley Authority Joe Hoagland Senior Vice President, Policy and Oversight
US Agency for International Development Drew W. Lutin III Acting Assistant Administrator for Management
US Army Corps of Engineers Jo-Ellen Darcy Assistant Secretary (Civil Works)
US Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board Anna Brown Director of Administration
US Department of Agriculture Robin E. Heard Deputy Assistant Secretary for Administration
US Institute of Peace Christopher de Paola Chief Administrative Office and Director of Property Management
US Postal Service Thomas Day Chief Sustainability Officer
US Trade and Development Agency Carolyn Hum Administrative Officer, Office of Administration
Revised 08/01/2012